Awards Committee

The committee has the responsibility of adjudicating all nominations and conferring all EC3 awards, in accordance with the rules defined in this document. Through its awards, the EC3 advances its mission by recognizing their contributions in advancing the fields of interest to EC3 to the benefit of society. The awards committee is responsible for:

  1. Soliciting and accepting nominations for all award categories
  2. Evaluating the nominations received
  3. Preserving the integrity of the evaluation process, assuring that the process is both open and rigorous and that the process contributes to the prestige of the council and the awards recipients
  4. Disseminating the results to the Board and greater EC3 community via the website and social media, and in writing to the employers of the awardees

The awards are conferred every two years to eligible persons. There are four awards categories:

  1. The Scherer Award is awarded to an EC3 active or former officer for outstanding service to the computing community in the context of EC3.
  2. The Thorpe Medal is awarded to all authors of a published journal paper in the last two years for its outstanding academic contributions to computing in the context of EC3.
  3. The Smith Prize is awarded for outstanding contributions to computing education in the context of EC3.
  4. The EC3 Best Paper Award is awarded to the best paper to be presented at the upcoming EC3.