Thorpe Medal

Photo of Professor Tony Thorpe

Nomination Deadline: 24th May 2024

The Thorpe Medal of the European Council on Computing in Construction was instituted and endowed in 2018 in the honour of Prof Antony Thorpe, a pioneering professor in construction information technology and co-founder of COMIT the community for mobile computing in construction.



The Thorpe Medal recognises a paper that contributes to either practical or research aspects of engineering informatics disciplines in the built environment.  The practical value of contribution and its impact on engineering informatics practice are key evaluation criteria.



The award may be presented annually to the authors of an original technical paper.


Papers are eligible if they have been published in a digital issue of a journal in the twelve-month period ending on 31 December of the year preceding the year of the award.

Papers must be written by:

– at least one individual who holds an academic post in a Higher Education Institution (HEI) whose main campus is in a European country.

“European country” in this context is defined as a country situated in whole or in part within the European continent.


Nominations can be submitted by anyone and must be submitted using the online form by May 24, 2024. In addition, each EC3 technical committee may nominate up to two candidate papers.

Candidate nominations should be received by the EC3 Awards Panel on or before the May 24, 2024 deadline to be considered.

Review process:

The nominated papers are reviewed and ranked by an Awards Panel. The panel provides the ranking and makes a recommendation to the EC3 Board, which makes the final decision.


The award consists of a medal and a cash prize determined annually by and subject to the approval of the EC3 Board based on the income reserves of EC3. The lead author shall receive the medal. All other authors shall receive a certificate.


To nominate, prepare the following:
  1. A cover letter, signed by the person making the nomination
  2. Contact information of the co-authors
  3. A copy of the paper
Submit the form: 
 Submit nomination

Award Winners:

2023 Thorpe Medal Zijian Wang, Rafael Sacks, and Timson Yeung Israel Institute of Technology
2022 Thorpe Medal Sotirios A. Argyroudis Brunel University
2021 Thorpe Medal Alex Braun and André Borrmann Technical University of Munich