Governance Board

The Board is responsible for overall policy and direction of the EC3 and may delegate the responsibility of day-to-day operations to the committees and staff. The board shall have up to twenty (20), but no fewer than seven (7) persons. The Board has three (3) main duties:

  1. Administer the conduct and activities of the EC3.
  2. Gather information on the latest technical, managerial and policy challenges relevant to the EC3 mission from the Board Members, disseminate to the EC3 membership, and direct the EC3 technical committees to address them.
  3. Collect the outcomes of the work conducted by the EC3 committees and disseminate them to the Board Members and the public.

EC3’s interim Board of Directors has been set as follows:

Position Person Country
Chair Dr Esin Ergen
Istanbul Technical University
Vice-Chair Dr Dimitrios Rovas
University College London
Secretary Dr James O’Donnell
University College Dublin
Treasurer Dr Pieter Pauwels
Eindhoven University of Technology
Past-Chair Dr Symeon Christodoulou
University of Cyprus


Past Chairs of the Board:


Person Country
Dr Symeon Christodoulou
University of Cyprus
Dr Ioannis Brilakis
University of Cambridge